New RDA Committee Announced

Kerry Penton - Acting Chair RDA Riverina

Kerry Penton - Acting Chair RDA Riverina

Regional Development Australia (RDA) Riverina has a new committee to help develop the Riverina as a strong, confident and vibrant region.

Regional Development Australia (RDA) is a national network of Committees comprising local leaders who work with all levels of government, business and community groups to support the economic development of their regions.

With a clear focus on harnessing the competitive advantages of their regions, seizing on economic opportunity and attracting investment, RDA Committees deliver the RDA Charter as announced by then Minister for Regional Development, Senator Fiona Nash in August 2017.

RDA Riverina engages with regional business, councils and industry sectors to work towards sustainable growth for the region. Current RDA Riverina programs include workforce development initiatives such as Jobs Riverina, Country Change and Skilled Migration; supporting Taste Riverina and Grow Our Own Western Riverina; and providing regional statistics, demographic data, economic impact analysis and other support for projects and grant applications.

The new RDA Riverina Committee consists of three returning members:

  • Kerry Penton (acting Chair) –- Regional General Manager South, TAFE NSW – Governance and education

  • Deirdre Lemerle – Adjunct Professor at Charles Sturt University – Business, industry and education

  • Dean Hawkins – Fibre & Forestry Manager, Visy Pulp & Paper – Business and industry

New members:

  • Gary Lavelle – General Manager, Temora Shire Council – Local Government

  • Christine Howard – Manager, Three Rivers University Department of Rural Health – Governance, general management, industry

  • Bradley Kent – farm owner – Business and industry

  • Sue Molyneaux – HR Manager at Casella Family Brands – Business and industry

  • Iva Quarisa – Executive Officer ,Irrigation Research and Extension Committee – Communications, business, local knowledge

  • Robyn Harvey – Director Internal Services, Snowy Valleys Council – Local Government

  • Shaun Duffy –Managing Director, Great Southern Electrical – Business and industry

Following the resignation Miriam Dayhew, who has accepted a position with the NSW Department of Planning, the position of Chair has now been advertised and interested persons are invited to apply.

RDA Riverina CEO and Director of Regional Development, Rachel Whiting thanked the outgoing Committee and especially immediate past Chairs Miriam Dayhew and Diana Gibbs for the strong foundations they laid for the new Committee to build on.

MEDIA NOTE: For more information, contact RDA Riverina CEO and Director of Regional Development Rachel Whiting on 0429 444 213.

Elliot Lee